Connecticut’s first weed delivery service started operations in June 2023. Delivery service licensees in the state are allowed to deliver weed to qualified persons at their home addresses. However, you must be 21 years or older to use recreational marijuana delivery services, while you must be registered with the state as a medical marijuana patient and be at least 18 to use medical marijuana weed delivery services.
Medical marijuana delivery is legal in Connecticut. Senate Bill 1201, signed into law in 2021, made delivery services by dispensary facilities to patients and caregivers legal.
Recreational marijuana delivery is legal in the state, and the first Connecticut recreational delivery service opened in June 2023. SB 1201, also known as the Responsible and Equitable Regulations of Adult-Use Cannabis Act (RERACA), legalized recreational marijuana delivery.
You can order weed online in Connecticut if you are 21 years or older or are an approved medical marijuana patient or caregiver. However, you can only order from state-licensed dispensaries, as it is illegal to ship cannabis across state lines. Typically, licensed Connecticut dispensaries offer online sales via their websites. However, some dispensaries also allow weed buyers to place their orders by phone.
You can order no more than a quarter ounce of recreational weed per transaction or 5 ounces of medical marijuana per month (or as prescribed by your certifying physician) for delivery in Connecticut. These limits also hold for customers who visit retail locations to purchase weed in person.
Only adults aged 21 or older can use Connecticut recreational weed delivery services, while patients aged 18 or older can use medical weed delivery services. It is illegal for minors to use recreational weed; therefore, recreational marijuana delivery is not available to them or persons under the age of 21. Medical marijuana patients who are minors can have their parents, legal guardians, or approved caregivers use medical weed delivery services on their behalf.
Delivery service licensees are permitted to deliver cannabis directly from hybrid retailers or dispensary facilities to qualifying patients and their caregivers. They may also deliver weed from retailers, hybrid retailers, and micro-cultivators to consumers aged 21 years or older. However, they are not licensed to sell weed to qualifying patients, caregivers, or other consumers.
SB 1201 also permits licensed dispensaries and hybrid retailers to apply to the Department of Consumer Protection to provide delivery services to qualifying medical marijuana patients and caregivers, using their own employees.
You can find nearby weed delivery services by contacting dispensaries in your area to see if they offer the service.
Connecticut weed delivery rules require that delivery recipients show their valid government-issued photo IDs with their dates of birth to prove their identities and ages before receiving their orders. State law stipulates that only persons aged 21 or older can access adult-use marijuana, and retailers and delivery service providers must comply with these requirements. Also, if you plan to receive a medical marijuana delivery, you must have your Connecticut medical marijuana card and acceptable photo ID ready to prove you are qualified to use medical weed and are 18 years or older.
Weed delivery is available in all Connecticut cities as the state does not allow municipalities to prohibit the service. However, with delivery services only recently licensed, coverage areas are only starting to widen. Hence, you must check with your retailer to confirm that it offers weed delivery services in your locality before placing an order with the dispensary.