Connecticut Medical Marijuana Card >
Connecticut Medical Marijuana Card Renewal >
Medical Marijuana Doctors in Connecticut >
Qualifying Conditions for Medical Card in Connecticut >
Replacement Medical Marijuana Card in Connecticut >
Connecticut residents aged 18 or older can buy medical marijuana if diagnosed with any qualifying medical condition. Minors below 18 years can only get medical cannabis through their designated caregivers, who must be at least 18 years old. Some of the qualifying conditions for adults are:
Yes. The Connecticut medical marijuana program allows patients to enroll by completing an application via its online system. Patients are also allowed to obtain their medical marijuana certifications via telemedicine. Review the application reference guide on the Department of Consumer Protection website to complete an application online.
You can apply for inclusion in the Connecticut medical marijuana program by submitting an application online to the Department of Consumer Protection. However, you must be a Connecticut resident and have a qualifying condition to be eligible to register. Note that you are ineligible to register with the program if you are an inmate confined in a correctional facility or institution under the supervision of the state Department of Corrections.
Yes, you must be a Connecticut resident to get a medical marijuana card in the state.
The cost of a Connecticut medical marijuana card for eligible patients is $100, while caregivers are billed $25. The Department of Consumer Protection does not accept cash payments. Applicants can send their checks or money orders to the Treasurer, State of CT via mail to:
Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection
Medical Marijuana Program
450 Columbus Blvd, Suite 901
Hartford, CT 06103
A Connecticut medical marijuana card is only valid for one year from the physician’s certification date. Cardholders are expected to apply for renewal immediately after obtaining their physicians’ certification. Before the application expires, patients should visit their doctors or APRNs to get recertified and apply for card renewal. The renewal fee is $100 for patients and $25 for caregivers.
Medical marijuana patients in Connecticut can only purchase weed from licensed dispensaries. Currently, there are 18 medical dispensaries approved to provide marijuana to eligible patients or caregivers in Connecticut. To ensure a seamless first visit to a licensed dispensary, a patient should bring the following:
The dispensary staff often require the first two details to verify the buyer’s eligibility. The details will also help the dispensary staff determine how much cannabis the patient can buy as prescribed by the patient’s physician. Generally, registered patients are allowed to purchase up to 5 ounces of marijuana within a 30-day period. However, the patient’s doctor may indicate the purchase limit in the patient’s certification.
The Connecticut medical marijuana program only approves patients recommended by DCP-certified physicians and advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs). Only doctors who meet the DCP Requirements can certify patients for medical cannabis. The Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection does not have a database for approved physicians.
Yes. Minors under 18 years old can get medical marijuana cards in Connecticut. According to the medical marijuana law, a minor patient's legal guardian or parent must be responsible for their purchase and use of marijuana. Also, two physicians must confirm the minor's qualifying condition and the need for medical marijuana. One of the doctors should be the minor's primary healthcare provider and must provide the guardian/parent with written consent that medical marijuana is required for the patient. The second physician must be certified by the Board of Physicians (BOP) in the medical field related to the minor's condition.
After confirming the need for medical marijuana, any of the physicians can obtain the caregiver's (guardian/parent) email address or phone contact to begin the process for the patient's certification. Minor patients in Connecticut will not receive medical marijuana cards after registration. However, caregivers can use their cards and the minor's email confirmation to purchase marijuana at licensed dispensaries.
Yes. After turning 18, a minor already registered in Connecticut’s medical marijuana program can apply for a medical marijuana card without requiring a caregiver or the consent of their parent or guardian.
Medical marijuana patients in Connecticut can initiate their medical cannabis card renewal process 30 days before the current expires. Note that Connecticut medical marijuana cards are valid for one year from the date of the patients’ physician certification. To begin the renewal process, patients must make an appointment with their physician or APRNs. After examination, the medical professionals can begin the recertification by:
After the physician's recertification is approved, the patient can continue their renewal online by submitting a photo ID and proof of residency. The patient may also update any information regarding a new contact address, email address, or a new caregiver. After registering a caregiver, the patient can inform the caregiver to begin their renewal process. The renewal fee for both patients and caregivers is the same as the initial registration fee.
Yes. Medical marijuana is legal in Connecticut. In 2012, the Governor signed HB 5389, a bill that allows patients with qualifying conditions to buy up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana. Eligible patients began buying medical cannabis from state-licensed dispensaries in September 2014. The 2012 Act permitted medical cannabis for only persons aged 18 years and older. In 2016, state legislators passed HB 5450, which allows minors with certain conditions to participate in the Connecticut medical marijuana program.
HB 5389, known as An Act Concerning the Palliative Use of Marijuana, created the Connecticut Medical Marijuana Program (MMP), which is regulated by the Department of Consumer Protection (DCP). To participate in the program, patients must register with the state and obtain a medical marijuana card. Once they have the card, they can purchase marijuana from state-licensed dispensaries.
Yes. Patients and caregivers registered under the Connecticut medical marijuana program can grow up to three immature and three mature plants at home. Also, households with multiple registered patients can grow up to 12 cannabis plants. Marijuana cultivation must only take place indoors in private residences, where the plants are not visible from the street. Furthermore, eligible home growers must plant marijuana in areas where minors cannot access it.
If you have a Connecticut medical marijuana card, you are exempted from the sales and use taxes on marijuana purchases. Also, you can purchase more marijuana than recreational marijuana users, who are capped at 1.5 ounces of cannabis.
Yes. In Connecticut, an eligible medical cannabis patient can designate only one caregiver to help them buy medical marijuana from a licensed dispensary. A caregiver is expected to administer medical marijuana products to patients under their care according to the physician’s recommendation. Caregivers must be Connecticut residents, 18 years or older, and must not be the patient’s physician. However, individuals with a criminal history of illegal sale or manufacturing of controlled substances will not qualify as caregivers in Connecticut. If the patient is a minor, the caregiver should be the legal guardian, custodian, or parent.
Patients must first indicate a need for caregivers by filling out the caregiver information using the caregiver's email address. Afterward, caregivers can register on the DCP online certification system and submit documents to show proof of identity. Patients can change their caregivers only during application renewal after one year. While patients are not allowed to have more than one caregiver, a caregiver may represent more than one patient if there is a legal, parental, or sibling relationship with each patient.
The State of Connecticut does not offer medical marijuana reciprocity under its medical marijuana program. Out-of-state patients cannot purchase marijuana from medical marijuana dispensaries in Connecticut.
Per HB 5389, medical marijuana records maintained by the DCP under the state's medical marijuana program are confidential and not subject to disclosure under the FOIA (Freedom of Information Act), except that reasonable access to registry information obtained may be provided to:
No, insurance does not cover medical marijuana costs in Connecticut.
The Connecticut medical marijuana card allows cardholders to buy up to 5 ounces of marijuana every month.
Yes, you do not need a medical marijuana card to purchase cannabis in Connecticut. Adults aged 21 or older with valid government ID can visit recreational dispensaries in the state to buy marijuana. However, individuals who need medical marijuana must have Connecticut medical marijuana cards to purchase medical marijuana.