Connecticut Medical Marijuana Card Renewal >
A medical marijuana card in Connecticut is a form of identification that asserts that the holder is a registered patient in the Connecticut medical marijuana program. Medical marijuana was legalized in Connecticut in 2012 with the passage of House Bill No. 5389 - Public Act No. 12-55. The law enables qualified patients to register with the Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) to be able to legally possess and use medical marijuana. The law also protects cardholders from arrest and prosecution, being penalized, or denied any rights or privileges because of their use of medical marijuana.
The Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection releases weekly statistics on the number of medical marijuana patients, per county, in the state. As of September 10, 2023, there are 43,511 registered medical marijuana patients in the State of Connecticut with Fairfield and Hartford counties accounting for almost half of all registered patients.
In Connecticut, a patient must meet certain requirements to apply for a medical marijuana card. These requirements are:
A patient under the age of 18 (minor) can not technically receive a medical marijuana card in Connecticut. However, a parent or legal guardian can be appointed as a primary caregiver in order for the minor to use medical marijuana. For minors to be eligible for this, they must possess one or more of the following:
The parent or guardian who will serve as the minor patient’s primary caregiver will need confirmation of medical marijuana as the best treatment from two physicians. One physician must log into the medical marijuana registration system and provide online certification, while the other physician provides a written certification. The online physician certification creates a patient’s record with the Department of Consumer Protection (DCP), which must be completed by the patient’s caregiver. There is a $100 patient registration fee that is applicable. The caregiver must also complete registration for themselves and pay a fee of $25. If the application is approved, the DCP will mail a medical marijuana registry card to the caregiver, which will cover the needs of the minor.
Persons 18 years and older with the following medical conditions qualify for medical marijuana cards in Connecticut:
If the application is approved, the patient will receive a medical marijuana registration certificate that is valid for one year.
A primary caregiver is an individual approved by the Department of Consumer (DCP) to provide assistance to patients in the palliative use of marijuana. A patient is allowed to register a primary caregiver if their physician certifies that one is required.
To be eligible to be a primary caregiver in Connecticut, the person must:
To register with the DCP as a patient’s primary caregiver;
A primary caregiver can only have more than one patient if they have a familial relationship with each of the patients. This could be a parent, guardian, conservator, or sibling. A caregiver’s certification is valid for one year and expires on the same day as their patient’s certification.
After the patient has submitted the completed application and paid the applicable fees, it takes up to 30 days to receive the registration certificate. The DCP will send a temporary certificate to the patient’s email address, and a permanent certificate will be delivered through the U.S. Mail. \
Getting a Connecticut Medical Marijuana Card Online
All Connecticut medical marijuana card applications are initiated and completed online. The patient’s physician initiates the application by providing the online certification, which asserts that using medical marijuana would be in the patient’s best interest. This certification creates a patient’s record with the Department of Consumer Protection Medical Marijuana Program (MMP). The applicant will receive an email notification when this occurs and instructions on how to complete the process. Applicants may mail any supporting documents (ID, proof of residency) and payments (checks or money orders) to the Department after completing the online application. The DCP also contacts successful applicants and sends their temporary registry ID cards by email notifications. The permanent registry ID card will be sent by regular mail to the patient’s address.
A Connecticut medical marijuana certification costs $100 for patients and $25 for their primary caregivers. The fees must be paid before the application can be processed. Application fees can be paid online, using a credit or debit card, during the registration process. Alternatively, patients can mail the fees (checks or money orders, payable to the Treasurer, State of Connecticut) to:
Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection
Medical Marijuana Program
450 Columbus Blvd
Hartford, CT 06103
When applying for a Connecticut medical marijuana registration card, the patient will need to provide;
The physician must have already provided the information confirming the patient’s medical conditions for the registration process to begin. If the patient has a primary caregiver, that individual must also provide a valid state-approved photo ID.
A Connecticut medical marijuana card contains information about the cardholder. The included information is:
Patient information in the Connecticut marijuana registry is covered by the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA). As such, the information contained therein is not available to third parties without the patient’s explicit consent. Registered law enforcement agents can only verify if a patient’s medical marijuana registration is still valid. Unlawful disclosure of patient information is a misdemeanor, and the perpetrator is liable for a fine and possible jail time.