Tolland County Cannabis – Is It Legal & Where To Buy 2024

  1. Connecticut Cannabis
  2. Tolland County Cannabis

Is Cannabis Cultivation Legal in Tolland County?

Licensed medical and adult-use cannabis cultivation in Tolland County is legal only in the municipalities that allow it. Medical cannabis was legalized in the State of Connecticut in 2012 by the Palliative Use of Marijuana Act or Public Act 12-55. Adult-use cannabis in the state for people not younger than 21 was legalized in 2021 by the Responsible and Equitable Regulation of Adult-Use Cannabis Act (RERACA), amended in 2022 by Public Act 22-103. The RERACA states that if at least 10% of the voters in a municipality ask for a referendum on whether to allow adult-use cannabis businesses in their territory, voting should be called for.

In Tolland County, only the following seven out of 13 towns have opted to allow adult-use cannabis businesses, including adult-use cannabis cultivation facilities, as of January 11, 2023:

  • Willington

  • Vernon

  • Tolland

  • Stafford

  • Columbia

  • Bolton

  • Andover

All municipalities of the State of Connecticut, however, allow the home cultivation of cannabis by medical cannabis cardholders aged at least 18. Starting July 1, 2023, individuals aged at least 21 are likewise allowed to do so. Not more than three immature and three mature cannabis plants may be grown only indoors in the qualified cultivator’s primary residence. In a household with more than one qualified cultivator not more than 12 cannabis plants may be grown. The cultivation area must be accessible only to the qualified cultivator and must be out of public sight.

The Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) of the State of Connecticut issues licenses for medical and adult-use cannabis businesses. Purely medical cannabis cultivation licenses were no longer being issued by the DCP as of January 20, 2022. Holders of the medical cannabis producer license that authorizes cultivation may have their licenses converted to include adult-use cannabis.

An adult-use cannabis micro-cultivator license or an adult-use cannabis cultivator license granted by the DCP is needed by a company to operate a cannabis cultivation business in Tolland County. Each license covers both medical and adult-use cannabis cultivation. Cannabis cultivation may be done indoors or outdoors provided all activities are hidden from the sight of the public.

A licensed cannabis micro-cultivator is allowed a growing area measuring from 2,000 square feet to 10,000 square feet. Once the limit has been reached, the licensee may apply to the DCP to extend up to 25,000 square feet but only in yearly increments of 5,000 square feet. Beyond that a conversion to a cultivator license is necessary. The application fee is $250, the provisional license fee is $500, and the annual license fee of $1,000.

A licensed cannabis cultivator is allowed a growing area starting at 15,000 square feet with no limits. The application fee is $1,000, the provisional license fee is $25,000, and the annual license fee is $75,000.

Is Cannabis Manufacturing Legal in Tolland County?

The licensed manufacturing of medical and adult-use cannabis products is legal under the State of Connecticut’s Palliative Use of Marijuana Act and the amended RERACA but in Tolland County, this is allowed only in the seven municipalities that opted in.

A cannabis product manufacturer license or a cannabis food and beverage manufacturer license issued by the DCP is required for a company to operate a cannabis manufacturing business in Tolland County. The cannabis product manufacturer license application fee is $750, the provisional license fee is $5,000, and the annual license fee is $25,000. The cannabis food and beverage manufacturer license application fee is $250, the provisional license fee is $1,000, and the annual license fee is $5,000.

According to DCP regulations, adult-use edible cannabis products, including cannabis-infused beverages, may only contain a maximum amount of five milligrams of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) in every serving. A pack that contains several servings may not exceed 100 milligrams of THC in total. Beverages can only be produced as single servings. Medical cannabis products may only contain a maximum amount of five ounces of THC per package.

Is Cannabis Retail Legal in Tolland County?

The licensed retail selling of cannabis and its products for medical and adult use is legal under the Palliative Use of Marijuana Act and the amended RERACA of the State of Connecticut but only the seven previously identified municipalities in Tolland County allow it.

An adult-use cannabis retailer license or adult-use cannabis hybrid retailer license approved by the DCP is necessary before a company can operate a cannabis retail business in Tolland County. The adult-use cannabis retailer licensee is authorized to sell only recreational cannabis and recreational cannabis products to people not younger than 21. The adult-use cannabis hybrid retailer licensee may do the same but also sell medical cannabis and medical cannabis products to medical cannabis cardholders. The application fee for both types of licenses is $500, the provisional license fee of $5,000, and the annual license fee is $25,000.

As of January 20, 2022, the DCP was no longer issuing purely medical cannabis dispensary licenses. Holders of the medical cannabis dispensary facility license may convert to the adult-use cannabis hybrid retailer license.

Licensed cannabis hybrid retailers are allowed to sell to each medical cannabis cardholder a maximum of five ounces of medical cannabis and medical cannabis products per month. Within this cap, there is no limit on the number of transactions. To every person not younger than 21, licensed cannabis retailers and hybrid retailers are allowed to sell only one-fourth ounce of raw cannabis flower or its equivalent at every transaction.

Cannabis plant materials or flowers for sale must not contain more than 30% THC based on dry weight. Other forms of cannabis or cannabis products for sale must not contain more than 60% THC based on dry weight. Persons not younger than 21 may purchase any type of adult-use cannabis allowed for sale in licensed retail stores, including edible cannabis products.

The following forms of medical cannabis and medical cannabis products may be sold to medical cannabis cardholders:

  • Pills

  • Lozenges

  • Tablets

  • Capsules

  • Sublingual preparations

  • Suppositories

  • Tinctures

  • Syringes

  • Transdermal patches

  • Topical formulations

  • Smokable, vaporizable, or inhalable products are only for sale to medical cannabis cardholders aged 18 or older

Is Cannabis Delivery Legal in Tolland County?

The licensed delivery in Tolland County of cannabis and cannabis products for medical and adult use is legal because all municipalities in the State of Connecticut are required by the Palliative Use of Marijuana Act and the amended RERACA to allow it.

To be able to deliver medical cannabis and medical cannabis products to medical cannabis cardholders and adult-use cannabis and adult-use cannabis products to persons not younger than 21 in Tolland County, a company needs an adult-use cannabis delivery service license from the DCP.

To be able to deliver medical cannabis and medical cannabis products as well as adult-use cannabis and adult-use cannabis products between licensed cannabis businesses in Tolland County, a company needs an adult-use cannabis transporter license from the DCP.

The application fee for both types of licenses is $250, the provisional license fee is $1,000, and the annual license fee is $5,000.

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Tolland County

An adult resident of Tolland County in need of medical cannabis treatment, and who is not incarcerated, can get a medical cannabis card by joining the State of Connecticut’s Medical Marijuana Program. To do so, the patient must be certified by a qualified licensed physician, physician assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse to have one of the following ailments:

  • Terminal illness

  • Huntington's Disease with movement disorders

  • Parkinson’s disease

  • Chronic Pain of at least 6 months from a chronic condition

  • Glaucoma

  • Tourette Syndrome

  • Cancer

  • Chronic pancreatitis

  • Epilepsy

  • Intractable neuropathic pain unresponsive to standard medical treatments

  • HIV/AIDS

  • Vulvodynia and vulvar burning

  • Severe psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis

  • Interstitial cystitis

  • Damage to the spinal cord with intractable spasticity

  • Median Arcuate Ligament Syndrome (MALS)

  • Multiple sclerosis

  • Ulcerative colitis

  • Wasting syndrome

  • Muscular dystrophy

  • Cachexia

  • Degenerative spinal disorders with chronic neuropathic pain

  • Irreversible spinal cord injury with intractable spasticity

  • Sickle cell disease

  • Crohn's disease

  • Ehlers-Danlos syndrome with chronic pain

  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis

  • Hydrocephalus with intractable headache

  • PTSD

  • Osteogenesis imperfecta

  • Complex regional pain syndrome, Type 1 and Type II

  • Neuropathic facial pain

  • Fibromyalgia with spasticity or neuropathic pain

  • Intractable headache syndromes

  • Cerebral palsy

  • Post-laminectomy syndrome with chronic radiculopathy

  • Cystic fibrosis

  • Severe rheumatoid arthritis

  • Uncontrolled intractable seizure disorder

  • Postherpetic neuralgia

After making a diagnosis, the healthcare practitioner must create a Department of Administrative Services (DAS) Business Network Account online for the patient and post the certification along with the patient’s name, email address, and phone number. This is the portal for the state’s medical marijuana registry. If the physician determines that an adult patient needs a caregiver, this will be indicated in the certification and the same information from the caregiver must be posted, as well.

The caregiver must register with the Medical Marijuana Program before the patient, entailing the submission of proofs of identity and state residency. There is a $25 caregiver registration fee which will be waived by July 1, 2023. The patient must register next, submitting the same requirements. There is a $100 patient registration fee which will also be waived by July 1, 2023.

If the patient is below 18, one of the following ailments must be diagnosed by two qualified healthcare professionals:

  • Terminal illness

  • Osteogenesis imperfecta

  • Irreversible spinal cord injury with intractable spasticity

  • Chronic pancreatitis with recalcitrant pain

  • Cerebral palsy

  • Tourette syndrome unresponsive to standard medical treatment

  • Uncontrolled intractable seizure disorder

  • Severe epilepsy

  • Cystic fibrosis

  • Intractable neuropathic pain unresponsive to standard medical treatments

  • Muscular dystrophy

One of the two physicians must sign the certification while the other must create the online registry account for the patient. The patient’s parent or guardian must act as the patient’s caregiver. This time, the caregiver will register the patient before proceeding to the caregiver registration. The fees are the same as those for adult patients and adult patients’ caregivers, also to be waived after July 1, 2023.

Medical cannabis cards are only issued to adult patients and caregivers and are sent by mail.

The State of Connecticut’s Medical Marijuana Program may be contacted through the following:

Phone: (860) 713-6066

E-mail: dcp.mmp@ct.gov

How Has Cannabis Legalization Impacted the Economy of Tolland County?

The DCP reported that the licensed retail selling of adult-use cannabis and adult-use cannabis products began on January 10, 2023, in the State of Connecticut. From January 10 to 31 alone, total statewide sales of adult-use cannabis and adult-use cannabis products reached $5.1 million while those of medical cannabis and medical cannabis products reached $8.2 million. From April 1 to 30, 2023, total sales of adult-use cannabis and adult-use cannabis products statewide reached $10.2 million while those of medical cannabis and medical cannabis products reached $11.4 million.

There are no taxes imposed on medical cannabis and medical cannabis products. For adult-use cannabis and adult-use cannabis products, the following cannabis taxes apply according to the Connecticut Department of Revenue Services (DRS):

Cannabis Form Cannabis Tax
Cannabis plant materials $0.00625 per milligram of THC content on the label
Edible Cannabis Products $0.0275 per milligram of THC content on the label
Other Forms of Cannabis or Cannabis Products $0.009 per milligram of THC content on the label

Furthermore, all sales of adult-use cannabis and adult-use cannabis products are subject to the state’s 6.35% sales tax. Also, a municipality may impose its own municipal cannabis tax of up to 3% on any cannabis business operating within its jurisdiction.

The Effects of Cannabis Legalization on Crime Rates in Tolland County

Medical cannabis was legalized in the State of Connecticut in 2012, and adult-use cannabis was legalized in 2021.

While there is no data specific to Tolland County, the FBI’s Crime Explorer page shows that in 2011, a year before the legalization of medical cannabis, there were 6,270 arrests for marijuana offenses statewide, comprised of 5,525 arrests for possession and 745 arrests for sales.

In 2013, a year after the legalization of medical cannabis, there were 3,073 arrests for marijuana offenses, comprised of 2,391 arrests for possession and 682 arrests for sales.

In 2017, there were 2,568 arrests for marijuana offenses, comprised of 1,952 arrests for possession and 616 arrests for sales.

The latest data available, which is from 2021, shows 557 arrests for marijuana offenses, comprised of 408 arrests for possession and 149 arrests for sales.

In those years, the number of DUI arrests was as follows:

  • 2011: 8,841 arrests

  • 2013: 8,261 arrests

  • 2017: 8,340 arrests

  • 2021: 6,133 arrests

In this section:
Connecticut.jpg